ELD Devices for Owner-Operators Compared: Price, Registration and Detention Records

An ELD is the device that records a driver's hours, and none is best for every owner-operator. On six vendors' pages read October 5, 2026, HOS247 has the lowest monthly price with no contract, $19 per vehicle; stop times for detention need a tracking tier, $22 at HOS247 or $24.95 at Matrack. Check any device against FMCSA's registered list first.

Key takeaways
  • Lowest published monthly price with no contract: HOS247 ELD Compliance, $19 per vehicle. Stop times for detention need a tracking tier: $22 at HOS247, $24.95 at Matrack.
  • An archived copy of FMCSA's registered list, captured August 19, 2026, shows devices from all six vendors. Re-check the live list before you buy.
The answer

Which ELD is the best choice for an owner-operator or small fleet?

No single electronic logging device (ELD) is best for every owner-operator. On six vendors’ published terms, HOS247 has the lowest monthly price with no contract, $19 per vehicle, and a carrier who bills detention needs a tracking tier, from $22. catuh sells no ELD and has road-tested none; this is what the vendors’ pages support as of October 5, 2026, not a ranking:

  • Lowest published monthly price, no contract: HOS247 ELD Compliance, $19 per vehicle per month. The device is $79 on monthly billing, free on a prepaid year. The plan lists the compliance log only.
  • Stop times for a detention invoice: HOS247 ELD Track at $22 is the lowest published plan that lists vehicle tracking. Matrack Premium at $24.95 lists GPS tracking and geofences, and Matrack’s page lists data export in CSV, PDF and JSON. Motive’s help centre documents a location-history export, in PDF or CSV, but Motive shows no price.
  • Lowest first year: twelve months of HOS247 at $19 is $228 with the device waived (our arithmetic; HOS247 prints no yearly price). TruckingOffice publishes $240 per year. Blue Ink Tech’s annual plan plus hardware comes to $490, also our arithmetic.
  • Five trucks or more: per-truck prices at HOS247 and Matrack do not change with fleet size on their pages. Blue Ink Tech lists free hardware for fleets of 5+. Motive and Samsara sell by quote.
  • No monthly fee: no pricing page among the six lists a plan without a recurring charge.

How do the six ELDs compare on published facts?

Four vendors publish prices between $19 and $30 per month and state no long-term contract; Motive and Samsara show no price on their ELD pages. That is what their pages said when we read them on October 5, 2026 (see the vendor links in the table). All six have a device on the archived copy of FMCSA’s registered list described below; the two that sell by quote are kept to show what a quote has to answer.

ELDPublished priceHardwareContractLocation records, per the vendorExport, per the vendor
HOS247$19 ELD Compliance, $22 ELD Track, $25 ELD Plus, per vehicle per monthLogging device free on a prepaid year; $79 on monthly billing“No contracts”ELD Track and ELD Plus list “ELD-Based Vehicle Tracking”; the ELD page lists “Real-Time GPS, Location History”The help centre says logs download “in PDF format”; location history not stated
Matrack$19.95 Basic, $24.95 Premium, per truck per month“Hardware ships free with annual plans”“No long-term contracts”Basic lists HOS and DVIR; Premium adds GPS tracking and “Unlimited geofences + alerts”Data export: CSV, PDF, JSON, Snowflake; which reports is not stated
TruckingOffice$23 per month or $240 per yearTruck data reader $125 one-time; free on the annual plan “for a limited time”“No Contracts - Cancel Anytime”Not stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page
Blue Ink Tech BIT ELD$30 per month or $300 per year$190 one-time, per the home page; free for fleets of 5+“None — cancel anytime”“full route history”, with location coming “from the BIT app on the driver’s phone or tablet”Not stated
MotiveNo price on the ELD pageVehicle Gateway on the diagnostic port; price not statedNot statedThe fleet management page describes alerts “whenever a vehicle from the fleet enters the geofence”The help centre says the Location History report downloads “as PDF or CSV”
SamsaraNo price on the ELD pageVehicle Gateway on the diagnostic port; price not statedNot statedThe GPS tracking page describes geofences “to automatically get notified when assets arrive and leave specific locations”Not stated

“Not stated” means the vendor’s page does not say, not that the product lacks the feature. TruckingOffice’s FAQ quotes different figures from its plan cards; the table uses the plan cards on the TruckingOffice pricing page, read October 5, 2026. The HOS247 product page says plans start “at just $17/month” and advertises “no monthly fee options”; the HOS247 pricing page lists neither, and the table uses the pricing page.

Beyond price: Blue Ink Tech says its location comes from the driver’s phone or tablet, so its route history depends on that phone being in the truck.

Is every ELD on the market registered with FMCSA?

No. Registration rests on the provider’s own certification, and FMCSA removes devices from the list: on August 6, 2026 it removed five, and carriers had up to 60 days to replace them. Under 49 CFR 395.22(a), a carrier “must use only an ELD that is listed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s registered ELDs list.” The August 2026 notice names the five devices; none belongs to the six vendors here.

The table below is read from an Internet Archive copy of FMCSA’s registered list, captured August 19, 2026. It is an archived copy, not today’s list.

VendorDevices in the registered-list copy of August 19, 2026 (device, model number, ELD identifier)
HOS247HOS247 ELD, FLT2, ELD247: the same model number and identifier HOS247 prints on its site
MatrackMatrack ELD, MA3000, LOG247; Matrack ELD for Android and for iOS, models MA3400, MA4000, MAMT30 and MAAX11; MATRACK MA-ELD, MA3400 and MA3401
TruckingOfficeTruckingOffice ELD, model 1.00, TO_ELD
Blue Ink TechBIT ELD for Android and for Apple, BIT17001, BITELD; BIT ELD Gen2, BIT17003, BITEG2; OBD versions of both
MotiveMotive ELD, “LBB-1 and higher”, MOTIVE
SamsaraSamsara ELD, VG, SAMELD

None of the ELD identifiers printed in that table is on the archived revoked list, captured August 31, 2026. Matrack’s page prints the reference ML2-001 beside its registration statement, while FMCSA’s list is keyed by model number and ELD identifier, so match the identifier printed on the unit you receive to a row on FMCSA’s list. A status can change on any day, so look the device up on FMCSA’s live list before you pay.

What does an ELD actually record at a shipper or receiver?

The rule requires date, time and location at each duty-status change, at engine power-up and shut-down, and at least every 1 hour while the truck moves. It does not require a facility arrival or departure event.

Location in that log is coarse by design. Appendix A specifies coordinates to two decimal places and says reporting accuracy “will be on the order of” ±1 mile. A compliance log shows that the driver went on duty, not driving, somewhere near the facility, not when the truck reached the gate or left the dock.

Where does detention fit in choosing an ELD?

After compliance, as the tiebreaker: detention is billed from an arrival time and a departure time, and those come from a tracking plan’s location history or geofence report, not from the mandated log. On the two priced vendors that split their plans, that report sits one tier up: $22 instead of $19 at HOS247 and $24.95 instead of $19.95 at Matrack, a step of $3 and $5 a month by our arithmetic, from pricing pages read October 5, 2026.

ATRI’s 2024 research found that “94.5 percent of fleets charge detention fees” and that “they are paid for fewer than 50 percent of those invoices.” catuh’s reading of that gap is that the invoice often goes out without a record of the hours.

The practical step is to audit which stops last month have no recorded arrival and departure, then capture those times with a tool already in the truck. A carrier or broker with the two times in hand can state the hours held and the source of each time on the invoice. If the rate confirmation requires in and out times signed on the BOL or proof of delivery, get the signature and keep the ELD export as the second record.

How do you check an ELD before you pay for it?

Check the FMCSA list first, then ask the vendor for a sample stop report before you ask about price. Six checks, in order:

  1. Look the device up on FMCSA’s registered list. Match the device name, model number and ELD identifier, and check the revoked list on the same site.
  2. Find the plan that includes location history. On HOS247 and Matrack, tracking is not listed in the entry plan.
  3. Ask where the location comes from. A device on the diagnostic port and an app on the driver’s phone fail in different ways when a phone dies at a dock.
  4. Request a sample export for one stop. You want arrival time, departure time and the address in a PDF or CSV you can attach to an invoice.
  5. Ask how long location history is kept. The regulation makes the carrier keep a back-up of ELD records for 6 months; it sets no retention period for a vendor’s tracking data.
  6. Price the first year, not the month. Add hardware and compare monthly billing with a prepaid year, since three vendors here waive hardware on annual plans.

When does this comparison not apply?

It does not apply if the rule does not require you to run an ELD, or if detention is not part of your freight. 49 CFR 395.8 lets a driver log manually when records are required on not more than 8 days within any 30-day period, in certain driveaway-towaway operations, or in a vehicle manufactured before model year 2000. Short-haul drivers who meet 49 CFR 395.1(e) are exempt from 395.8 altogether.

It also covers six vendors, not the market, and a device absent from the table is not worse. Where a broker’s own tracking app or the facility’s signed times are what the rate confirmation names, those control the claim, whatever the ELD exports.

By Deivy Stiven Hernandez, founder at catuh. Published . Last revised . Filed under Comparisons.

Questions

Frequently asked questions

How much does an ELD cost per month for an owner-operator?

On the pricing pages read October 5, 2026, among the four vendors here that publish prices, the entry plan is $19 per vehicle per month at HOS247, $19.95 per truck at Matrack, $23 at TruckingOffice and $30 at Blue Ink Tech. Hardware is extra unless an annual plan waives it. Motive and Samsara show no price on their ELD pages.

Is there an ELD with no monthly fee?

On the pricing pages we read on October 5, 2026, none of the six lists one. Every priced plan carries a recurring charge, monthly or yearly, and Motive and Samsara sell by quote. HOS247's product page advertises "no monthly fee options" without a price, so ask what that covers. The lowest published yearly price is TruckingOffice's $240.

Do hotshot drivers need an ELD?

Not always. 49 CFR 395.8 does not mention hotshot trucking; what counts is whether the driver must keep records of duty status. The exceptions apply to a hotshot as to anyone: records required on not more than 8 days within any 30-day period, driveaway-towaway operations, a vehicle built before model year 2000, and the 150 air-mile short-haul exemption in 49 CFR 395.1(e). A hotshot who does need one buys on the same criteria as any one-truck carrier.

What happens if my ELD is removed from FMCSA's registered list?

When FMCSA removed five devices on August 6, 2026, it gave motor carriers up to 60 days to replace them. Its notice said to stop using the revoked devices, revert to paper logs or logging software, and install a registered ELD before October 6, 2026. From that date a carrier still using one is considered to be operating without an ELD, and safety officials are told to place the driver out of service.

Sources
Where to start

Does this cost you the same every month?

If the answer depends on who is handling it that week, the knowledge is sitting in a person rather than in the process, and it leaves when they do. Tell us which process behaves that way. One person reads it and one person replies, with what we would standardise first and why.

More on this: Comparisons, or all resources.

Tell us what breaks